March is National Craft Month

March is National Craft Month. I am going to listen to the poorly designed logo and just start crafting. No, not Minecraft or Starcraft, these are games and while they pass the time and are very entertaining they are not the kind of crafting I am talking about, even though Minecraft  does require you to have a crafting table.

I am talking about the kind of crafting, that in an article, I read told me, “56 percent of U.S. house holds have a person who has a passion for crafting.” The article goes on to tell me 5 facts about crafting which are very interesting. http://www2.timesdispatch.com/lifestyles/2012/mar/04/tdflair02-national-craft-month-ar-1730538/. (Note: when I was editing, seems the source is broken.)

The statistic was  given from the Craft and Hobby Association (CHA).  They are an international, not-for-profit trade association who is made up of three major business groups, suppliers, buyers and industry professionals. They host www.craftplace.org (this is also broken.) which is the website I found this cool survey list  (don’t bother it is broken) of popular crafts for the month of March. The site was good (not the one with the survey) and worth visiting. It is organized, has some cute craft projects, and you can find some interesting tips like “Always wash and dry cotton fabrics before sewing them. They’ll shrink in the wash and if you sew them first, they’ll get distorted.

If you would like to become a member, CHA even has a youtube video that explains about membership benefits. I enjoyed listening to the lady who shook her head a lot as if to tell me “no” while explaining the membership benefits to me.

What am I doing in honor of National Craft Month?

Nerd crafts.

Yay nerd crafts.

Leave a Reply

